Windows Live Messenger Virus Warning

January 24, 2008 12:30 PM
Related Categories: GRRR, Technology, Web Dev, Personal

If you use MS Instant Messenger (windows live messenger) at all be careful not to fall for a bad link which installs a virus.  You will be IM'd something like:

Hey, isn't this YOU??   http://mainmsn.com/images/viewimage.php?=[my email here]

The key is that it actually tries to open or download/run a file that looks like an image but isn't really.  It then (I think) sends out links to your contacts in IM world.  I have gotten one so far, but didn't actually fall for it.   I am putting this in a couple categories to get the info out to some who only subscribe to certain categories feeds.


Like this entry? Subscribe to my blog.

Comments (moderation on)

i had this happen to me, i thought a friend was sending me photos, but at least i knew how to fix it a lot of people don't know.
# Posted By barb | 8/24/08 3:16 PM
Is there a fix available? I've had this happen to me and Norton doesn't seem to have got rid of it?!
Help!
# Posted By Debbie | 1/13/09 9:29 AM
There are a number of sites that detail how to remove it. Try this google search.
http://www.google.com/search?q=Windows+Live+Messen...
# Posted By Joshua Cyr | 1/13/09 9:34 AM
Help how do I fix this? I've got this virus and Norton doesn't seem to have got rid of it properly???
# Posted By Debbie | 1/13/09 9:35 AM

Sponsors


Savvy Content Manager